How Hacking Changed My Life

I already wrote about my hacking beginnings here and here. Now, I want to talk about something else. I want to talk about how hacking changed my life!

Well, first of all, because I kept running into BackTrack tutorials while I was learning how to hack, I began to be interested in Linux and free software. I’ve spent days trying to install BackTrack in a virtual machine and connecting it with my network. I thought I just couldn’t configure my VM but, at the time, I didn’t know that I need to enter some command in terminal to unblock WiFi in BackTrack which was blocked for some reason whenever I booted into live CD or just installed BackTrack on my computer.

Anyway, I decided I’m tired of playing with VMs and for no obvious reason at all, I decided I should try to install it directly on my laptop. And I did manage to work it out! That was my first Linux distro I ever installed and it definitely wasn’t my last one (over the time I tried BackTrack, Linux Mint, Fedora, Arch Linux, elementary OS, Ubuntu, Kali Linux and wright now I’m running Kubuntu). Tinkering with free software is awesome and I contributed a lot to free software. So, hacking got me into free software.

In the beginning, I was really hooked up to Anonymous movement. I read this book called We Are Anonymous: Inside the Hacker World of LulzSec, Anonymous, and the Global Cyber Insurgency and I was instantly hooked. So I started following Anonymous community in Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and I’ve seen numerous times that they posted pictures where they say reading is better than watching TV. They’ve kinda changed the way I look at the world. Following them was the reason I started reading books actively.

Because of hacking, I learned a lot about computers. I did spend my whole summer learning as much as I can but now I’m confident that I’m in the top twenty persons in my local community in knowledge about computers and networks.

Hacking woke up my thirst for knowledge, my thirst for books, and it kinda changed my view of the world through Anonymous. I’m not impressed with Anonymous as I used to be, but they did learn me a lot of things.

Hacking is awesome.

P.S. QTM is great!

Leave a Reply

