My Manifesto

Across my Reddit feed, I came up with this great article titled Why You Should Write a Personal Manifesto, published by Wiseism. I feel like this is a great way to keep yourself motivated, so I’ve decided to do just that: to write down my own manifesto.

I’m pretty confident that this manifesto really represents who I truly am, so I’ve decided to share it with you guys.

At the end of the post, there’s a picture with the manifesto that I made because I wanted to use it as my wallpaper. From time to time, I really enjoy reading Hacker’s Manifesto, and I made this Manifesto to replace that occasional reading with something I wrote myself. This Manifesto is not new, it’s saved on my computer for a long time now and I had a different reason to write it. After reading this article, I’ve just rearranged it a little to look more “manifestish” (whatever that means).

My Manifesto

I’m not like most of you.

I do not have emotions. I don’t feel the same way as most people feel. I don’t get hurt easily. I don’t believe I’m going to go to hell if I do something. I don’t believe I should be forbidden to do something I would like to do.

I’m not a role model of any kind and I’m not trying to be a role model to anyone. I’ve tried most of the things people consider bad. I don’t think that anyone could help me if I don’t want to help myself. I don’t believe anyone will be by my side until death do as apart. I realize I’m on my own in this world and that’s the way I like to live my life.

When I meet someone, all I see is a game. A game that I can win or loose. I don’t get attached to people, all I see is a way to exploit them. A way to manipulate them to get what I want. And you know what I want? I want to be happy. And I am just that.

You wanna know why? Because I have something that most of the people surrounding me do not have. I have my mind and I know how to use it. I know how to make the best out of any situation and I’m perfectly happy in every situation I can possibly run into. I’m not saying I’m any more intelligent that you. I’m not saying that I think of myself as some higher species than most of the people. I’m not saying I’ve read more books than you. I’m just saying that I know how to be happy. I know how to feel alive…

PNG version:

manifesto

The font used in the picture is my new favorite font called Ubuntu Mono. If you like the design used in this picture, you should thank Tom Brewe (GitHub username: nylki) for creating this awesome syntax theme for Atom called pen-paper-coffee-syntax. The wallpaper is basically a screenshot of the text (using that syntax theme and Ubuntu Mono font) slightly edited using GIMP.

I’m also thinking about creating a dark version of the wallpaper. If I decide to make it, I will update this post immediately.

Leave a Reply

